2017 In Aspic - Episode 1

Welcome to Episode 1 of 2017 In Aspic.  This series is a collection of songs that have appeared in this blog over the current year.  It will conclude with a "best of" episode in late December.  My hope is that this will afford readers an opportunity to listen these songs in a steady, curated stream.

The title "2017 In Aspic" is taken from a song titled 1970 In Aspic that was released by Robyn Hitchcock earlier this year.  I really dig the visual imagery of time being trapped in a pork-based gelatin.  Very British.

This first mix is largely upbeat indie and alternative tunes, with a detour into a bit of blues and jazz.

I hope you enjoy the series.  Here is the playlist:

Baby Teeth, Wolfy Teeth by Mick Harvey

Grease by Flo Morrissey and Mathew E. White

You're In Love With A Psycho by Kasabian

French Press by Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back To Leeds by The Mountain Goats

Let The Chalice Blaze by Thievery Corporation

Andromeda by Gorillaz

Cannonball by ZZ Ward

Memories Are Now by Jesca Hoop

Hello Stranger by Samantha Fish

The Same Love That Made Me Laugh by Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

Tripped Out Slim by Trombone Shorty

(Satis) Faction by The Danish Radio Big Band & Charlie Watts

Fact 67 by The Brian Jonestown Massacre

Click Here to access the 40 Watt Gigolo page on Mixcloud.  Here, you can access all of my mixtapes.